Penguins repeat as Stanley Cup champions | OneDayTop

Penguins repeat as Stanley Cup champions

have the Pittsburgh penguins won the Stanley cup

NASHVILLE — Patric Hornqvist banked a shot off goalie Pekka Rinne’s elbow with 1:35 left in. Rules for the game-winner in the Pittsburgh Penguins. As Penguins attempt to repeat as Stanley Cup winners. Stanley Cup-clinching 2-0 win opposition the Nashville Predators.

The Penguins won in six games. The first NHL team to win Stanley Cup. Back-to-back titles since the 1996-97 and 1997-98 Detroit Red Wings first team.

Pittsburgh goalie Matt Murray made 27 saves to give him back-to-back shutouts in Games 5 and 6.

Here’s what was important in the game:

Quick whistle:The Predators believed Colton Sessions gave them a 1-0 lead early in the second period. This team is the first team to win the Stanley cup.

However, the referee had blown the play dead. for the reason he believed Filip Forsberg’s shot had been snared. covered by Pittsburgh goalie Matt Murray. Sessions had poked it across the goal line.  only to have his apparent goal immediately waved off.

extra horrific luck for sessions:Late in the third period, Sisson pinged a shot off the proper goal post. He also was stopped on a breakaway.

Superior penalty killing:The Penguins killed off four Nashville power play opportunities, together with a 5-on-3 for 32 seconds. The Penguins didn’t have a power play opportunity.

Ellis all in:Nashville defenseman Ryan Ellis. Who left sport five early was able to play Game 6 and played effectively. He played 24:05.

Crosby, a Conn Smythe winner once more:Crosby became the first player since Penguins. Owner Mario Lemieux in 1991-92 to win consecutive Conn Smythe trophies. Crosby had eight goals and 19 assists in the 24 games of the playoffs.

Five Cups all on the street:The Penguins have never won a Stanley Cup at home. The 1960 Pittsburgh Penguins were the last Pittsburgh team to win a championship in Pittsburgh.

As a result, Pittsburgh penguins Stanley cup wins. It’s the Penguins who raise the Stanley Cup for the second straight season becoming. the league’s first repeat champions since the 1997-1998 Detroit Red Wings. The Penguins’ captain was named the Conn Smythe winner as the playoff MVP for the second consecutive year.

Pittsburgh penguins Stanley cup wins
first team to win the Stanley cup


OneDayTop ©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by WordPress. Theme by Phoenix Web Solutions